Tuesday Tantalizer – “Oppression” Launch Party with Jessica Therrien!


Good morning everyone (or whatever time of day you happen to read this)!

I’m very excited!  Today, my friend Jessica Therrien, releases her first book!  This post is a part of her virtual launch party today, and several other blogs are participating, so make sure to hop over there and read everyone else’s posts as well!

Next week, on March 6th, I’ll be doing a full interview with Jessica.  Today, here’s the blurb for the book that you can now get in paperback and Kindle.

Elyse knows what it means to keep a secret. She’s been keeping secrets her whole life. Two, actually. First, that she ages five times slower than average people, so that while she looks eighteen years old, she’s closer to eighty. Second, that her blood has a mysterious power to heal. For Elyse, these things don’t make her special. They make life dangerous. After the death of her parents, she’s been careful to keep her secret as closely guarded as possible. Now, only one other person in the world knows about her age and ability. Or so she thinks. Elyse is not the only one keeping secrets. There are others like her all over the world, descendants of the very people the Greeks considered gods. She is one of them, and they have been waiting for her for a long time. Some are waiting for her to put an end to centuries of traditions that have oppressed their people under the guise of safeguarding them. Others are determined to keep her from doing just that. But for Elyse, the game is just beginning – and she’s not entirely willing to play by their rules.

I’ve gotten to visit with Jessica off and on since I met her, and I can relate a lot to her reasons for writing.  Here’s what she has to say:

Oppression took me a while to write, simply because I wrote when I felt like it, when the ideas and words needed to find their way to the page. I never intended for it to be published. Like most writers, I wrote because I had these characters in my head, talking all night, keeping me awake. Writing down their dialogue was really the only way to quiet them. Once the story started to form, I grew to love the characters and knew I wanted to share them with others.

Characters who speak to the writer are very powerful – they consume us for a while, and eventually we do have to decide whether to share them or not.  Aren’t we so grateful for the people who do share them?

What characters have authors shared that have made a difference in your life?

Now, would you like to win a free Kindle copy of Oppression?  If so, please go to my Facebook page and enter the giveaway there!

