The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey – Movie Review and BlogFest


I finally got to do with The Hobbit what I wanted to do with the Lord of the Rings movies – go to a midnight premiere in costume. With my Ferrets. Well, all except Lissa, because she’s not as big of a Tolkien nerd as the rest of us.

The Ferrets - POST midnight showing. AKA 3 am, which is why we all look stoned. Left to right: Michelle, Jessica, Eris, Rebekah, Serena.

The Ferrets – POST midnight showing. AKA 3 am, which is why we all look stoned. Left to right: Michelle, Jessica, Eris, Rebekah, Serena.

To avoid possible spoilers for those in the Hobbit BlogFest who haven’t seen the movie yet, I’m going to get that part of my post out of the way first :).

hobbitfestrs

HobbitFest is being held my M. Pax and Tyrean Martinson, please click the thumbnail above to see the post with the other HobbitFest participants!

And the 4 questions to answer for HobbitFest:

What is your favorite hobbit characteristic/or the one that you think closely resembles you?

Haha, gardening! Even though I’m new at it, and 10 years ago you wouldn’t have heard me say that I enjoy gardening, it’s definitely becoming something I treasure. Nothing tastes as good as the first ripe tomato of the season right off the vine.

If you could choose between a scrumptious second breakfast or a perilous unexpected journey – which one would you prefer?

Second breakfast. Because I don’t like unexpected things. Nope. Not one bit. They make me cry.

Have you ever left behind something on a journey (expected or unexpected) and wished you could have it over and over again? (a pocket handkerchief?)

Usually my camera. I’m not photography minded normally, but when there’s absolutely no camera around is usually when I’ll see something that I’d actually like to get a picture of.

What is your favorite part or quote from the book that you hope will be in the movie?

The songs! And so far . . . well, it looks like everything’s going to be included!

And now . . . the moment you’ve ALL been waiting for . . . my review of The Hobbit! (There be spoilers here.)

First off – this was my first midnight showing ever. It was so much fun, but The Hobbit is definitely the only movie(s) I will ever do this for. So tired today . . .

But, the movie!

OMG THE MOVIE!

I have been waiting for this movie to come out since I first read The Hobbit 10 years ago, long before there was even a glimmer of hope that it might actually happen. The Lord of the Rings movies had just started coming out, and so everyone was waiting to see what would happen with those.

First off, though – this is not a straight adaptation of Tolkien’s book. The reason that there is enough material for three movies is because material is being gleaned from the appendices of the Lord of the Rings books for what was happening behind the scenes with the Necromancer during that time, but it’s all very related to the Dwarves quest, because that’s how Bilbo finds the ring.

I would say that a good half of this first movie was from The Hobbit book. Things are changed as necessary to make it a good movie – Azog being in it as the bad guy at all, for one, but his involvement was added in well, in my opinion.

Also, I honestly cannot comprehend why anyone would want to see this movie at the High Frame Rate. It is absolutely gorgeous as-is. I can understand wanting to see it in 3D, but I don’t know that I could handle that personally. It would be too overwhelming, I think.

Things I loved:

The costumes! (If I wasn’t a writer, my next profession of choice would be costume designer. Or zookeeper. Sometimes it’s hard to pick.)

The music – OH THE MUSIC! I think I replayed the entire soundtrack in my sleep, because I woke up humming “Over the Misty Mountains”. While not every song in the book (you know, as far in the book as the 1st movie went) was included, the main ones were. Even if a couple were cheesy, it was still so awesome to see them in there!

Radagast’s show-down with the Necromancer. CREEPY.

The mention of the blue wizards. Huzzah!

THE EAGLES.

And as usual, the scenery shots and special effects were STUNNING. Can’t wait for actual scenes with Smaug beyond just fire and brimstone :D.

Things I . . . didn’t love:

The way Radagast the Brown was portrayed. In the book, he’s eccentric. In the movie . . . he was more like slightly insane. Radagast has been one of my favorite characters from the book for a very long time, so this portrayal did NOT live up to my expectations at all.

So, have YOU seen the movie yet? What’d you think? If you haven’t seen it yet, what are you looking forward to the most?

