Camp NaNo & #WriteMotivation – Finishing up June, and on to July! (And a mid-year look at yearly goals.)


How the frick is it already July? Camp NaNo starts today, and I’m not ready. *twitchflail*

I’m gonna do a few things on this blog post today. It’s gonna be a long one, sorry!

First, a few plugs…

The Fictional Ferret blog – aka the Rabid Rainbow Ferret Society! This is a collaborative blog between me, Lissa, Michelle, Jess, Serena, and Eris. You should come check us out.

The Ferrets now have a Facebook page! You should go like it! (Please?)

Also, I’ve had quite a few new followers since I last posted anything about it, but you can follow me (Rebekah Loper) on Facebook and Twitter, also.

Second up, #WriteMotivation!

June Wrap-Up:

1. Finish crit on TSB for Michelle.

I have 109 pages left, and I should be able to finish this today. I made it through 150 pages yesterday, so I can call this done, right? I think so.

2. Catalyst stuff that was changed twice.

Yeah, no, this didn’t happen. At all.

3. Read five books.

I read:

Passing Time by Ellie Garratt
Snapshots by Patricia Lynne
Forged by Fate by Amalia Dillin
Guardian by Heather Burch

aaaaaand…. TSB? Because Michelle’s book is over 120,000 words. And I read well over 3/4 of it. So, I say it counts as my fifth book, yes?

4. Get five posts pre-written for this blog.

5. Get five more posts pre-written for the RRFS blog.

So overall, June was a success! Even though I didn’t get to work on the one thing that I really needed to. That’s what Camp NaNo is for!

Annnnd…

July #WriteMotivation Goals:

1. Crit Cloudy for Eris.

2. Catalyst re-write for Camp NaNo.

3. Read A Wise Man’s Fear by Patrick Rothfuss.

4. Survive the uncle & family coming to visit, and MOM GOING OUT OF TOWN FOR A WEEK. The goal is literally DO NOT DIE OR HAVE A NERVOUS BREAKDOWN.

I should be able to handle that, right?

And since we’ve breached the halfway mark of the year…

It’s time to look at and re-evaluate my yearly goals and aspirations.

Looking at this list… life has not gone the way I expected it to at all. So, there are some changes that need to be made. (Also, bold = complete, italic = in progress, strikethrough = being removed.)

Writing/Blogging Goals:

1. Finish draft 1 of 2011 NaNo.

2. Write book 2 of Undoing.

3. Make major progress on 2-3 books of Gyti.

4. Finish ABCs of Fiction Writing.

5. Participate in no more than 5 (now, 10) major blog events (platform building campaign, bloghops/fests,  etc) spread throughout the year.

(Participated in 7 so far, have one more that I’ve signed up for, and one more potential. Then I think I’ll be calling it quits for the year.)

6. Attend 2-4 writing conferences and pitch to an agent at least once.

(Technically complete. Attended the Oklahoma Writers Conference, Inc, (where I pitched to two agents) and the Tulsa Creative Writing Conference at Tulsa Community College. Planning to attend the Muse Online Writer’s Conference and  Nimrod, both in October, as well.)

7. Draft 1-2 short stories per month.

(Um… I’ve drafted a total of two short stories this year. Been focusing on Catalyst too much.)

8. Have outlines for at least 2-3 novels completed at the end of the year.

(This could still happen.)

9. Completely organize writing things.

(This… could still happen as well.)

10. Continue blogging 2-3 times a week.

(On track!)

11. Write every day except Monday (there are related goals in Health & Lifestyle below).

12. Read at least one “craft” book per month. (You know, books about writing!)

Health/Lifestyle Goals

1. Get a spring garden in.

2. Work out at least 3 times a week.

(Hah. Yeah. Could still happen, though…)

3. Read Bible daily.

(I’ve been falling behind on this one.)

4. Take Mondays off from writing, chores, exercise basically make it my “Sabbath rest”.

5. Stay off the computer until 9 am Tues-Sat.

6. Take at least one day per month completely off the computer.

7. Start making and using more home remedies.

(Well… we evidently don’t NEED home remedies a lot. Hubby has been sick… once? Twice? … so far this year, and it was very minor. I… haven’t been sick at all. Yay!)

Me

1. Attempt Project 365 (again).

(I attempted.)

2. Have plan in place for finishing household and outdoor projects (even if it’s going to take years).

3. Get a tattoo.

(It’s not going to be in the budget.)

4. Take advantage of the free foreign language and continuing education courses available through my local library.

(In progress, but I’ve fallen a bit behind…)

5. Make most/all of my “new” clothes this year.

(I don’t have time for this. I’ll make some, but not most/all. Oh well.)

 

So, yeah… life happens. But overall, I’m making progress. And I’m actually getting in the habit of keeping the house clean. Now I just need to get in the habit of, say, WEEDING. *groans at the garden*

