Prayers Needed


My father has been on a heart transplant list for several months now. Today, he received ‘the call’, and is on his way to Oklahoma City. There have been many disagreements within the family about the course of action he has chosen – namely, because my father watched as God healed me of the same heart condition that has afflicted him his entire life. God is no respecter of persons (Romans 2:11), therefore what God did for me, He wanted to do for dad, but dad would not receive it.

There have also been things going on within the family about my dad beyond the whole health issues – it is only within the past couple of years that I have even been able to recognize that his treatment of his wife and children (of ME) over the years was beyond “harsh”: it was abusive (never physical, but emotional scars and wounds are just as deep and painful). Yesterday was the first time I’d talked to my dad in months.

While I am grateful that my dad is getting a second chance at life, the fact that this is a heart transplant means someone else has died. I can only hope they had an opportunity to hear the Gospel before they passed. Please pray for the other family, as I’m sure they are grieving. Please pray for us, especially my mom, as she has to make decisions in the following months. Please pray for God’s provision – emotionally, spiritually, and physically, so my family doesn’t end up beneath a mountain of debt.

Hear my cry, God.
Listen to my prayer.
From the end of the earth, I will call to you, when my heart is overwhelmed.
Lead me to the rock that is higher than I.
For you have been a refuge for me,
a strong tower from the enemy.
I will dwell in your tent forever.
I will take refuge in the shelter of your wings.
~ Psalm 61:1-4 WEB

