ABCs of Fiction Writing


Hello everyone!  I didn’t mean for this much time to pass before my next post, but life happens.  I had a birthday yesterday, and the muffler fell off the car today, so like I said, life happens.

Today, though, I want to discuss my newest writing project.

About a week ago, I was wandering around the Yahoo! Contributor Network forums, and discovered a challenge that had been started the first week of May.  That challenge was to write an article per week that coordinates with the alphabet.

Of course, what was the first thing that came to my mind?  Writing.  Not just writing in general, though – specifically fiction.  Anyone who writes fiction who has then taken a college composition course knows that there are different techniques for writing research and for writing fiction.  English grammar may be the same, but not writing techniques, let alone expectations.

My set of articles are all going to be part of my ‘ABCs of Fiction Writing’ series.  If you look at the sidebar on the right-hand side of my blog, you can see a new section carrying that title.  Here I will put all of my links to the ABCs of Fiction Writing articles.

The current articles up are:
Active Voice: Making ‘Do’
Believable Characters: “I think I know them . . .”
Conflict Equals Plot: What’s going to happen?!

Coming this week:
Dialogue: Who said what?
Emotion: Feel the Love!

These articles are meant to be short and to-the-point, but please ask if you have questions about anything and I will answer to the best of my ability.

