Camp NaNo and Other News . . .


The long-awaited Camp NaNoWriMo has arrived!  It started on July 1st, and this month is beta month.  August will have all the bells and whistles, we’re told.  Cabin’s aren’t functional yet (I can’t wait to see what those are!), but you can look up your friends by their username to see how they’re doing.  There’s just no way to automatically link to their profile (yet).  I am in love with the bull’s eye target for the word counter.  I love the whole site, too . . . it’s honestly more fun to look at than the NaNoWriMo site!

I am, however, woefully behind.  I hit day one’s goal on day two.  The fact that there are 31 days to write 50,000 words instead of 30 really doesn’t make that much of a difference.  The goal is now 1613 words instead of 1667 – a whopping difference of 54 words.  I’m supposed to reach 11,291 words by the end of today.  Not going to happen.  I have work, and then dinner, and then chores . . . and finally, I’ll get to write.  At some point.

It was a very exciting week for me – I was offered up-front payment on two original articles!  It was very exciting :D.  The two articles are Paper and Pen: Gifts that Make a Writer’s Life Easier and Cat Litter that Really Works – a Comparison.

I have the next ABCs of Fiction Writing article  is done:

Imagery and Description: Bringing Everything to Life

Article ‘J’ should be up tonight.
And here is another article I’ve recently published that you might enjoy:

Three Essential Books for the Speculative Fiction Writer

Who else is doing Camp NaNoWriMo?  Are you doing it in July or August, or both?  Are you writing a novel or being a rebel like me?

