What Songs Haunt You?


Have you ever watched a movie and there’s been a sound on the soundtrack that just sticks with you?  Or been listening to say, Pandora, and found a song that goes along perfectly with what you’re writing?  There’s several that I have that roll through my mind every now and then – Circle of Life from the Lion King, Beauty and the Beast, the version of Edelweiss sung in the Sound of Music when the Von Trapp family is getting ready to flee Austria . . .

There are three songs in particular that haunt me from time to time, because there’s just something about them that is entrancing.

The most recent one is the Healing Incantation song from Tangled.  If you haven’t seen Tangled yet, you must do so.  It’s awesome!

This song is the one Rapunzel must sing to make her hair doing it’s magic, glowing thing.  While that sounds cheesy, the sound is really quite hauntingly beautiful.


The second song, and probably my favorite of all time, is Once Upon A December from Anastasia.

I remember the first time I saw Anastasia.  It was long after it had come out on DVD, and it surprised me that my mother had picked it up at the library.  It has become one of my favorites, though, ranking very closely to Phantom of the Opera and Beauty and the Beast.  It’s both sad and sweet, because we all know that the real Anastasia probably died that fateful day in Russia.  Not too long ago (within the past decade, I think), they found what they are pretty sure are the remains of her and one of her sisters.

Once Upon a December always makes me think of what might have been.  Especially if they had never brought Rasputin in.


This song, Requiem by Three Graces is my latest haunting obsession.  This one I found on Pandora during NaNoWriMo last year, and it fits the mood of the story I wrote (Weeping Willow) perfectly.  Whenever Weeping Willow gets published one day (or I self-publish, we’ll see!), I will be letting you know which chapter to listen to this song with.  You will cry.

