Love, Dreams, and Reality


It has been an interesting, but good, week.

My husband got the job we’ve been praying for the last two years. We weren’t praying for a specific job, but rather for an entry-level opening in the field he wanted to get into. That finally happened this summer! He starts his new job at the end of August, and I have to decide what to do about my job, because if I stay with the hours I have now I won’t see my husband from Wednesday afternoon to Saturday night except to be asleep in the same bed for a few hours at the same time each evening. I’m praying, and thinking . . .

Tonight, though, what I have for you are two blog recommendations that I think you will really enjoy.

Not too long ago, my friend Kinda Wilson was able to have her book, Confessions of a Non-Barbie, published. I’ve known Kinda for . . . almost ten years? Holy cow, has it really been that long?!

Almost as long as I’ve known her, I remember her talking about this book she was working on. After a couple of years, I remember thinking that maybe it was going to be finished one day, and in the meantime I wasn’t going to worry about it.

Then, one day her book is published. Just like that. This is a non-fiction book geared toward single young women who are frustrated with the dating system.

Kinda is an avid garage-saler, though. And estate-saler. In fact, if there’s a bargain to be found, Kinda WILL find it. It’s been said that she can get up on a Saturday morning, lick her finger and put it up to test the wind, sniff the air, and point to the nearest garage sale.

She found a real treasure at an estate sale a few weeks ago, though – love letters from a soldier to his wife. This soldier was stationed in Germany in World War II.

She has decided to post these letters one at a time on her blog. You can read more here.

This next blog is so incredibly inspiring, yet it also brings you face to face with reality.

What would life be like if you were a young woman trying to attend college, but you were homeless?

Olivia Hall is living that reality. My heart broke for her several times this past week, especially when she told about having to sleep at a homeless shelter and the representative told her when she was old enough to drink, she would be able to find men that would provide her a place to sleep as long as she was willing to share the bed. And when she was afraid there wouldn’t be financial aid for school this year.

God is providing for her, though, but she needs all the support she can get.  Her dream is to become a journalist.

Her blog is Scribbler of Dreams, Child of God. Please go read, you won’t be the same afterward.

 

Also, this Sunday, I’m going to begin posting a devotional each week, specifically geared toward writers.  Keep an eye out for it!

