Creation – Sunday Devotional


I am not going to preach or discuss much religious doctrine on this blog. It will be completely impossible for me to ignore that aspect of my life here because, being first a Christian and a pastor, it is who I am.

I will probably say things that will offend people.  That would happen whether I am religious or not, though, and so I’ll deal with it.

As I said in my introductory post, I do not write exclusively Christian fiction.  I may (will) write some, but for the most part those people who read Christian fiction are those who already know Christ.  I want to reach those who don’t know Him.

I was asked by a friend and fellow writer a while back if I had ever considered writing a devotional.  She is interested because she doesn’t have a home church right now and is always in search of something to draw her closer to God.  I told her that I in fact had, but I wasn’t really sure where to start.

So, this is my attempt.  I will warn you that I do take some things in the Bible (such as the creation story in Genesis) literally.  I have read the Bible through from cover-to-cover several times.  Not even most pastors can say that, and so I know what I believe and why, even if there is some disagreement within the Church.

From now on, for at least through the end of the year, hopefully longer, I will post a devotional every Sunday.  They won’t be very long, just something for you to meditate on throughout the day and/or week.  I’ll start with a selection of Scripture, and tell what it means to me.  I may have a song to go with each devotion, but no promises all the time.

 

Creation

Gen 1:1 (KJV)
In the beginning God created the heaven and the earth.

It makes sense to start these devotions at the beginning of the Bible, with the creation.  After all, we writers must first begin by creating something, whether or not we are creating a world for a fantasy story,  or simply a new story in our familiar world.

In the beginning God . . .

This is such a powerful phrase in and of itself.  In the beginning there was God.  We don’t know that God was the only being that existed at that point, but common theology is that God is outside of time, and so He was always there even before the beginning.  If you ponder that for too long, it boggles your mind.

In the beginning God created . . .

This is the key word we’re going to zoom in on today.  Created.  Creation.  Creating.

Creation is the act of making something.  We writers do this every time we sit down and put pen or pencil to paper, or fingers to keys.  We are creating something that was not there before.

I have heard it said that “imitation is the sincerest form of flattery”.  This thought rings in my mind every time I sit down to create, especially as a fantasy writer.

My prayer is always “Lord, let my creation reflect You!”

