Inscribed Forever – Sunday Devotional


Job 19:23-27 New King James Version

“Oh, that my words were written!
Oh, that they were inscribed in a book!
That they were engraved on a rock
With an iron pen and lead, forever!
For I know that my Redeemer lives,
And He shall stand at last on the earth;
And after my skin is destroyed, this I know,
That in my flesh I shall see God,
Whom I shall see for myself,
And my eyes shall behold, and not another.
How my heart yearns within me!

It is said that Job is a book about patience and the sovereignity of God.  I don’t disagree, but when I read the book of Job, it’s not completely for those themes.

It’s for the imagery.  Job is chock-full of it.  It also uses metaphor, and antagonists, and plot . . . and I could go on and on.

I’m not discussing the whole book of Job today.  I’m discussing these verses.

Every time I read through Job, I am anxious to reach this section.  It makes my heart race, and I almost feel like I am flying.

Oh, that my words were written!  Oh, that they were inscribed in a book!  That they were engraved on a rock with an iron pen and lead, forever!

Isn’t that the cry of every writer’s heart?  For our words to be written, and put in a book.  We know how temporary books are – they are easily burned, or destroyed by water, even torn apart.  The only thing more permanent would be to have our words engraved on a rock!  There’s not much that can destroy rock.

Isn’t that a challenge, especially to the Christian writer, to be careful of what we write?  What if the wrong words get engraved?

And then we move on to the next part of the verse . . .

For I know that my Redeemer lives and He shall stand at last on the earth

This goes along with Acts 17:28: for in Him we live and move and have our being.

If our Redeemer lives, then we write because He lives.  It isn’t always visible to the world, but my spirit is always chanting within “He lives!  He lives!”  It never stops!

And after my skin is destroyed, this I know, that in my flesh I shall see God

Oh!  This is our confidence – this is why some don’t understand our faith.  They don’t understand why we believe.  They don’t understand that we know.  It takes faith to know, and I can’t say that I always knew, but after I have lived through many things in my life, I can say now that I know beyond the shadow of a doubt.  My Redeemer lives!  And I will see Him!

Whom I shall see for myself,
And my eyes shall behold, and not another.

Then, in that day, at the end of all, I will see Him for myself.  I will look upon Him.  I will no longer have to take things just because they are said and proven to me through His Word and through faith.  I shall see Him for myself!

How my heart yearns within me!

