With My Whole Heart – Sunday Devotional


Psalm 9:1-2

I will praise thee, O LORD, with my whole heart;
I will shew forth all thy marvelous works.
I will be glad and rejoice in thee:
I will sing praise to thy name, O thou most High.

We writers show our hearts and bare our souls through using words.  It doesn’t matter if we’re writing an essay, a story, a poem, or a song, anything we write is an extension of us.

Does my writing praise Him?

There are certain aspects of my relationship with God that I feel are better portrayed through using allegory, and writing fantasy makes allegory so easy.  Even if someone isn’t a Christian, I want there to be truth seeded into my stories.  It may not always be visible, but haven’t you ever read a book and something that was said will just resonate with you?  Sometimes I think, even though the writer may not have been a Christian, that God knew I was going to be reading a particular book at a particular time in my life, and He influenced the author to say just what I would need to hear in those moments.

We write from our hearts, so if my heart is continually praising Him, then everything I do will praise Him.  I want to shout His works from a mountain top.

I am reminded of Mary, the mother of Jesus, when she went to see her cousin after conceiving the Christ.

For he that is mighty hath done to me great things; and holy is his name. – Luke 1:49

I will be glad and rejoice in You, and I will sing praise to Your name, O Most High!

