Muse Online Writers Conference and a crazy week ahead . . .


So I signed up at pretty much the last minute for the Muse Online Writers Conference last weekend.  Everything gets started today, and I went through the list of workshops yesterday to decide what I wanted to do.

There’s a lot.  I chose a lot.  Some of them are week long (Oct 3-9), some are only one day workshops.

Add in the fact that this overlaps with the Ozark Creative Writers Conference this weekend, and it’s going to be interesting to juggle all of this, but I’m really excited.

So, the workshops I have chosen to ‘attend’ with Muse are:

Mind Mapping your way to deeper characters (1 day)
– not really sure about what this is, but character depth and believability is one thing I have a hard time with, so why not peek in?

The Myth in Mythology – use it to sell your breakout novel (1 day)
– considering my novel that’s actually got a completed first draft is about dryads, I thought this was extremely appropriate 😀

No Guns Allowed (1 day)
– Weaponry :D, and making it believable.

Keeping Track of Your World: How to Create a Story Bible (1 day)
– definitely need to go to this one.  It’s something I’ve been thinking about for a while, but really don’t have the time to come up with new systems of organization myself.  I’d rather adapt someone else’s.

Serious about Series? Considerations for Building a Multi-Volume Fantasy (1 day)
– Gyti will probably end up being a series, so I think this will be very helpful.

Creating Villains Your Readers Will Love to Hate – From Darth Vader to Voldemort (1 day)
– I’m kind of a nice person at heart.  I have a hard time creating truly nasty characters that are actually believable, so I think this will help a lot.

Writing Through Thick and Thin (1 day)
– Just go back and read my Confessions of an Aspiring Author post.  I so need this workshop.

Survival 101: When Edits Become Rewrites (1 day)
– I just have a few words to say: Weeping Willow.  Written during NaNoWriMo.  OF COURSE the edits are going to turn into rewrites.  It’s a rather intimidating task.

Beta Readers: the good, the bad, and the just plain mean (1 day)
– I’ve had some experience with mean beta readers my very early days of writing fan fiction a very long time ago.  Now that I’m getting back into the swing of things and actually am in a just-starting-up critique group, I think this workshop will be helpful to wade through the early bogs.

Crafting the Perfect Query (week long)
– because I’ll probably be ready to start querying for Weeping Willow before I get the chance to take a workshop like this again, and I really have no clue where to start.

Developing a Unique Voice (week long)
– character voices.  I already know I need help with this.

From the Inside Out: Discovering Your Characters
– There will be 35 character discovery exercises.  HELLO NaNo planning . . .

Keys to Building Suspense in Any Genre (week long)
– yeah, I’m a newborn infant when it comes to suspense . . . and these days, good fantasy has to have suspense.

Torturing Your Characters for Fun and Plot-Fit: BWAHAHAHA! (week long)
– the ‘bwahahaha’ is seriously part of the workshop title.  Not kidding.  Of course I have to take this class . . .

Worldbuilding 201 (week long)
– I haven’t taken Worldbuilding 101, but the other option was to have a well-developed world ready to explore.  201, meet Gyti.

Zombies and Monsters and Pixeies – All Mine (week long)
– Making common monsters uniquely yours.  In the light of the Twilight books, this is a must . . .

 

So, somewhere in between laundry and packing and housework and packing and going to Eureka Springs, I will be learning a lot with this conference.

Hopefully next year, I’ll be able to participate in the agent pitches, etc . . .

I think I’ll need lots of caffeine this week, too.  Anyone who wants to treat me to Starbucks this week is more than welcome 😀

