NaNoWriMo is Coming!


I can’t believe it’s been a year already.

Last year at this time, The Barenaked Critic and I had just received the news that we were accepted as the new Municipal Liaisons for our region.  Our beloved ML was moving away, and Critic and I decided to step up into the now-empty spot.

We had barely a month to make all our plans.  It was still an incredible year.

We are so much more prepared this year.  We’ve been planning since last November really.  Brainstorming off and on through the year about what things worked and what things didn’t.  What new things we want to try . . .

Tulsa Wrimos, we have some awesome stuff waiting for you guys this year!  I can’t wait to see what you all think . . .

For everyone else . . .

If you don’t know what NaNoWriMo is, it’s National Novel Writing Month.  It’s a literary challenge – write 50,000 words in 30 days.

It’s daunting, especially the first time.  But it’s oh so worth it.  When you break it down to daily word count (which is 1.667 words per day), it’s not quite so scary.

If you’ve never written that much at one time, just set your goal a little lower.  You won’t get the certificate for 50k at the end, but the real intent behind NaNo is just write.

Don’t worry about if your spelling or grammar is perfect – this is a first draft.  Anything that goes in can come out.  Later.  After you’ve reached 50k.

You won’t regret it – I promise.  So, will join me on this journey?

And if you do sign up, my name on the NaNo site is Taethowen, so go add me as a writing buddy – I’ll add you back!

