Perishable and Imperishable Crowns – Sunday Devotional



Photo credit: hotblack from morguefile.com

Do you not know that those who run in a race all run, but one receives the prize? Run in such a way that you may obtain it. And everyone who competes for the prize is temperate in all things. Now they do it to obtain a perishable crown, but we for an imperishable crown.
Therefore I run thus: not with uncertainty.
Thus I fight: not as one who beats the air.
But I discipline my body and bring it into subjection, lest, when I have preached to others, I myself should become disqualified.

1 Corinthians 9:24-27

NaNoWriMo begins on November 1st.

It’s like gearing up for a marathon (not that I’ve ever run a marathon – I have done 2 1/2 miles in 30 minutes though).  I’ve been making sure that all my loose ends are tied up (plot wise and household wise), and making sure there are plenty of snacks on hand (homemade scones, anyone?).  And tea.  Let’s not forget the tea!

All this for a perishable crown . . .

In the long run of things, and in light of eternity, it really doesn’t matter if I win NaNoWriMo every year or not.

What matters is that I have a story that must be told.  Sometimes as I’m writing the story I don’t know what the message is behind it, but every step of the way, even my human error enters in, I’m asking God that it would somehow glorify Him and bring someone closer to Him that didn’t know Him before.

At the Ozarks conference, someone said that writing is a vocation, not a career.  You do it whether you make money at it or not, because you have stories that must be told.

Our Christian walk should be the same way – we don’t live as Christians because it’s what we’re supposed to do.  We should live as Christians because it is what we ARE.

Have you been putting as much effort into your Walk as you have your words?

