Sunday Devotional – Revive Me


My soul clings to the dust;
Revive me according to Your word.

Psalm 119:25 NKJV

I love this scripture in the King James and New King James, but sometimes I can’t see past the poetry into the meaning.  I don’t often use the Message, but sometimes it’s interesting just to see what it says . . .

I’m feeling terrible—I couldn’t feel worse! 
      Get me on my feet again. You promised, remember?

If you’ve been following along with my NaNoWriMo journey so far this year, you’ll know that the first few days have been tough.  I had a slight fever the first day of NaNo, was still feeling weak the next day, and then when I was finally feeling better, I was helping my family out and then had church things that had to be taken care of.

I was feeling physically terrible the first couple of days, I was also feeling terrible mentally because I wasn’t able to get my word count in.  It was so hard the first 4 days to get the minimum 1,667 words, and I had really wanted to be doubling that each day.

God promises His strength to His children, though.

I will be honest, I haven’t read my Bible each day this week.  I need to be getting up a little earlier in the morning each day, because if I don’t get it done first thing, I get distracted by everything else that needs to be done.

I do pray, though.  I try to pray continually, but I am praying often.

The Psalms can make excellent prayers when you’re not sure what to say.  This has been mine.

Revive me according to Your word!

