NaNoWriMo Day 8


Word Goal: 13,336/50,000

Actual word count: 18,468

What happened today:

I hit the week-two slump.

I’ve never hit it before.  Week two has always been easy for me, but this year is different for some reason.

So, for Day 8, I only wrote 412 words.

And I also came to the realization that as much as I want to hit 100k this month, I’m pushing myself too hard.

Last year, the only thing I worried about was telling the story.  This year, I’ve been fretting too much over word count, and that has to stop.  So, I’m not trying for 100k anymore.

This story has been my brain-child for 8 years.  It deserves me taking the time (especially the first time around) to tell it right, even though it will get edited and revised numerous times.  I can write a good-quality 50k words in a month with this story.

I don’t know if I can do that with 100k, and the story itself MUST come first.

100 (er, 97) Word Excerpt:

Ehi was sneaking out through the servant’s quarters, and she had to do it quickly.  Since her costume was finished, they were all busy getting their own costumes put on and any last minute touches made, and she had to get through quickly before they started paying attention to the world around them again.

Her feet were bare.  Even though her mother thought it was very much beneath her class, Ehi ran around barefoot almost everywhere.  The hard stones of the square wouldn’t feel harsh against her feet tonight, and Ehi was rather proud of her calluses.

Wordle (click for full-size image):


