NaNoWriMo Day 10


Word Goal: 16,670/50,000

Actual word count: 20,020

What happened today:

I decided to not worry about writing, and just took care of things around the house that I needed to.  The new blog theme wasn’t something I needed to do, but it was something I’d been wanting to do since mid-October.  I didn’t start writing until almost 10 pm, but when I did start writing everything just started flowing (finally!).

It was fabulous last night, too, because Pandora popped up just the right song at just the right time for the scene that’s been in my head all this month.

So, watch this, it’s perfect, and helped me reach 20k last night!

100 (sorry, only 90) Word Excerpt:

So it went, on and on.  Feet stepped and slid, hands grasped and bodies spun in the ancient dances of their ancestors.  Dances that were said to bless the ground with fertility, because the steps imitated the movements of the spirits.

Erlkys knew that they represent much more than that.  The steps actually imitated the symbols that invoked the the spirits.  While the dances that the Kysis considered the ritual dances were not being circled yet, these dances were the ritual dances of their ancestors.  It had simply been forgotten.

Wordle (click for full-size image):


