NaNoWriMo Day 11


Word Goal: 18,337/50,000

Actual word count: 20,795

What happened today:

It was Veteran’s Day here in the US.  My father, my grandfather, and my husband’s grandfather have all served in the armed forces at some point in their lifetimes, and so I want to take just a second to say ‘thank you’ to all who serve, past or present, but especially to my best friend’s brother in the Marine Corps who is currently stationed overseas.  Thank you for keeping us free!

Still not writing the 1,667 words a day.  I’ve got to get back to at least that much over the weekend, though, because I’ll actually be behind if I don’t.  I did, though, write

100 (102) Word Excerpt:

Faster and faster around the fire they flew, and soon one dancer could not be differentiated from another.  The drum beats were frantic, and now at the end the metal drums began their ringing beats.  The soft padding of feet on the pavement was almost loud enough to be heard over the drums, but not quite.  When the entire square was filled with dancing feet, they it would be.

Just as Erlkys was sure that someone in the dancing circle was about to trip, everything stopped.  The dancers, the music, and it seemed that all breath in the square had as well.

Wordle (click for full-size image):


