Sunday Devotional – Preparing for Advent


I’m going to take a break from the writing devotionals for the holidays. Advent begins today, and Christmas has always been something incredibly near and dear to my heart.

The word ‘advent’ means ‘coming’ or ‘arrival’.  For Christians, the Advent season of Christmas is our time to refocus ourselves and focus on the first arrival of our Messiah – the birth of Jesus Christ.

I’ve looked up some information and found varying sources that say Advent starts today, or that it starts next week.  For convenience sake here on the blog, I’m going to start it next week.

But now, as we begin to get in the swing of the Christmas season, whether we’re shopping, or decorating, or just trying to make it through each day, take a few moments and find out why this season is special for you.

And ask God to make it new to you again.

Jesus said to him, “I am the way, the truth, and the life.  No one comes to the Father except through me.  If you had known Me, you would have known my Father also; and from now on you know Him and have seen Him.” – John 14:6-7 NKJV

