NaNoWriMo Day 26


Word Goal: 43,333/50,000

Actual word count: 43,517

What happened today:

6-hour write-in!  I needed it so badly . . . my goal was to write 5,000 words at the write-in (which I did!), but I also wrote at home that morning, and so I wrote 6,595 words that day.

That was in the midst of some family things that came up in the middle of the write-in.  It was a stressful day to say the least, but I wrote almost 7,000 words in spite of that!

If I ever say that the day was too terrible to write ever again, shoot me.

100 Word Excerpt:

“A sacrifice,” the priest’s voice was just as quiet as hers had been, “That is all that can ward off this evil . . .”

Dina shivered, despite the heat.  She always dreaded those words.  A sacrifice . . . at least they no longer sacrificed infants, like their ancestors had.  Her mother had told her about one time when she had witnessed one of the last infant sacrifices that had been conducted among the Eswad.  They had been reserved only for times of great need, and Dina could not bear to think of what her mother had told her.

Wordle (click for full-size image):


