Sunday Devotional – New Creation


New Year’s Day is here, and with it the thought of resolutions and goals and everything we wanted to become in the previous year but weren’t able to.

It’s almost impossible to do these things in our own strength, and as a Christian, I know that anything major that I try to change is infinitely easier when I do it with Him.

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. ~ Philippians 4:13 NKJV

I have not reminded myself of this verse often enough in recent days.  It probably won’t be any surprise to you that life isn’t easy.  It isn’t fair.  Things are going to suck at some point, and you will at some point have to face a battle that shouldn’t have been yours to fight in the first place.

And sometimes, what’s happening is completely our own fault.  Sometimes we screw up so badly that we feel like there’s nothing we can do to redeem the situation.

That’s when I know it is beyond my own power, and that I have been trying too hard to do things that I should have turned over to God in the first place.

But the beginning of the New Year is a reminder of just that – new beginnings.

Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, he is a new creation; old things have passed away; behold, all things have become new. ~ 2 Corinthians 5:17 NKJV

All I have to do is repent, and give it back to Him.  He can fix the things that I wouldn’t know where to even dream of starting the repairs.

