Sunday Devotional – Acknowledge Him


This week has not gone well, in terms of things that I set out to accomplish.  I can actually say, for the first time in months, that the family is not on the brink of some major disaster/illness/breakdown.

We’re only a week into the year, and I’m already so behind.  How am I already half a week behind on my Bible reading?

I found myself sitting in my chair on Saturday, saying, “God, I tried so hard this week.  I got up on time, I tried to get at least something done every day, but nothing seemed to work.”

He said, “YOU tried.  You never surrendered to me.”

And I really wanted to hit my head on the desk at that point.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him, and He shall direct your paths. ~ Proverbs 3:5-6 NKJV

Every day last week, I made up a list of what I thought I needed to get done.  Everyday, I failed to ask God what He needed me to get done, and every day I failed miserably.

So this week, I’m going to read my Bible before I turn on the computer.  This week, I’m going to ask Him what HE has for me to do that day, before making a list of what I think needs to be done.

This week, I will attempt to make these my theme:

But seek first the kingdom of God and His righteousness, and all these things shall be added to you. ~ Matthew 6:33 NKJV

I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God, which is your reasonable service. ~ Romans 12:1 NKJV

Therefore we make it our aim, whether present or absent, to be well pleasing to Him. ~ 2 Corinthians 5:9 NKJV

