Sunday Devotional – Trust


So, remember that devotional I wrote a couple weeks ago?  The one about acknowledging Him? We’re going to go back to that verse today, because there’s more.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not on your own understanding . . . Proverbs 3:5 NKJV

It was a hard week again, just getting stuff done.  I could never focus on more than one thing a day, and the fact that I had to run around everywhere last week didn’t help either.  There were a lot of time management choices I could have made differently, but it still wouldn’t have gone much better.

I’m ashamed to say that this is the first time I’m picking up my Bible from last Sunday.

This is the week when I have to figure out what exactly I’m going to get done – and if I’m going to focus on my God-given talents, or keep wasting my time with petty distractions.  I just wish the house would keep cleaning itself.  Or that someone else would clean up their messes at the very least.

Yet it all comes back down to this one simple question – am I willing to STOP, to ASK, to LISTEN, and to TRUST? Hey look, I made an acronym!  SALT – completely accidental, too, at least on my part.  I think God knows what He’s doing.

Through my life experiences (yes, I’m only 26, but I’ve lived through a lot that many people wouldn’t even dream of), none of those steps are optional.  People are asking God questions all the time, but what’s a question when you’re running back and forth and never take the time to give the person who has the answer your full attention?  How are they even going to know you’re talking to them if you don’t stop?

Stop – give God your full attention.  He deserves it just for being God, but that makes it so important when you’re asking Him for something.
Ask – let Him know the questions that are dancing around in your head.  He will provide all our needs, based on His wealth, not ours (Philippians 4:19), and He wants to give us the desires of our hearts (Psalm 37:4).  He knows everything, but part of being His children is that He wants us to come to Him with our questions.  He wants to spend time with us.
Listen – this is what many people forget to do.  God’s voice can be heard many ways, but most often it’s quiet.  My best friend and I used to wistfully talk about the blinking, neon sign that we wish would appear saying “THIS WAY!”, especially when we were in that decision time when we were graduating high school.  There were times when we did get a form of that, when everything came together so perfectly and with His timing that we knew there was no other way to go except that.  Most of the time, though, it took patience and time spent daily listening for His voice.
Trust –  this is where a relationship with God is essential.  Anyone who asks Him a question will always get an answer.  Sometimes, you’re not going to like that answer.  Sometimes, you’re downright going to HATE the answer, especially when it’s because your flesh wants to do something that it really doesn’t need to.

So it all comes down to this . . .

Do you trust Him to know the path better than you ever can?

