Saturday Sundries – The 11 Questions Tag Game


So, this week I got tagged THREE TIMES for the 11 Questions game that’s going around with the Writer’s Campaign Participants.

And you know what . . . I can’t do this without consuming tea.

*goes to make tea*

Alright, tea is brewing . . . and tea is consumed. Mmm, chai!

So, on to the questions!  At the end of them, I’ll tag 11 people and ask 11 questions of them!  So please stick around and see if you’re one of them :D.  I think I’ll be mixing it up and doing old and new friends, just because it’s so much fun to see what my old friends will say!

First up, my 11 questions from Avery Marsh at Creative Type:

1. Who was your favorite author when you were a child?

Gilbert Morris – I adored the Seven Sleepers series, my first taste of science fiction when I was a kid.  And since it was clean & Christian, my mom let me read it over and over and over again.

2. If you could put yourself in any book, what would it be?

Um . . . I think it’d have to be . . . hmm.  I have to choose? *ponders*  The Hobbit.  Yes, The Hobbit :D.

3. What is the best writing advice you ever read/received?

Write what you want to read.

4. If you were a prescription drug, what would your list of side effects include?

May cause disorientation and dizziness.

5. Name an interesting trait you’ve given one of your characters.

um . . . half-dryad, half-human?  Ysabel (formerly called Isabel in earlier drafts) of Weeping Willow.

6. Edit as you go or edit by the draft?

A mixture of both.

7. If you were to write an autobiography, what would it be called?

Now You Know

8. Introduce us to one of your villains.

*evil cackle* The Duchess, from Weeping Willow.  My CP’s (critique partners) say even her very brief appearance in the prologue of Weeping Willow creeps them out.  She stops at NOTHING.  She accidentally murders her husband, but she has no reason to regret it.  The only inconvenience is that she hadn’t really planned to do it, and so now she has to cover her trail.

9. How many novels have you written?

Complete FIRST draft? One – Weeping Willow.  It still needs major edits.
I have another in progress – Stars for the Dead.  It’s been in the works for about 8 or 9 years now.
I have on partially written that is going to be mostly scrapped, and needs serious outlining – Father Time.  This is my only YA so far.
And I have one that I’m starting to outline right now – The Undoing Chronicles

10. What is your favorite writing related website?

National Novel Writing Month . . . I live and breathe it, even when it’s not November.  It’s a side effect of being a Municipal Liaison.

11. What other secret talents do you have?

Sewing, cooking, cat-wrangling, making my own beauty products . . .

 

Next up are the questions from Natasha Hanova at Writes by Moonlight (a fellow OWFI member and Campaigner, which just thrills me to pieces!):

1. Most important question first, what is you’re favorite kind of brownie? And do you have the recipe?

I’m actually really picky when it comes to brownies, and I don’t have a favorite yet.  I’ve yet to find a brownie recipe that I absolutely love.  *sad sigh*

2. What already published book do you wish wrote?

Elantris by Brandon Sanderson.  Not because I’m jealous of his success or anything (though it would be nice one day!) but because I really loved that story!

3. What do you think is normal, but other people think is quirky?

Freshly grinding wheat to make my own baked goods . . . my mom started doing it when I was young (like, 6 or 7) and we’ve been doing it ever since.

4. Who is your favorite character you created? Go ahead, you can name names. I won’t tell.

Sachi.

5. What do you write? Literary? Genre Fiction? Nonfiction? Etc?

Genre fiction – fantasy.  I lean toward dark and/or epic fantasy most of the time.

6. What did you have for lunch today? And since you’re a writer, I expect a little more than “sandwich.”

I haven’t had lunch yet today . . . but I really want bacon, eggs, and toast.  I rarely ever buy bacon, and I have a few slices left in a package that I need to use up before it goes bad :D.

7. Favorite childhood toy? Or book?

I’m a writer.  My favorite childhood toy was my imagination. 😀  My sister and I spent HOURS in worlds of our own making.  Sometimes days at a time.

8. Do you dream in black and white, color, or do you not remember your dreams?

Color.  I think I’ve only had a handful of dreams in my life that were in black & white.

9. List three pet peeves.

People who say they want to change but make no effort to do so.
My husband leaving his works boot in the middle of the floor beside his side of the bed.  I always trip on them and almost face plant when I have to move around in the morning.
People asking me for help at the last minute, but wanting me to conform to THEIR schedules, not what time I have available.  I need to tattoo on my forehead “Lack of planning your part does not constitute an emergency on mine.”

10. What makes you laugh?

Idiots.  I’m a very happy person, obviously :D.  And animals.  Animals make me laugh too :D.

11. What book are you reading?

The Realms Thereunder by Ross Lawhead is the current priority.  I’m reading about 6 other books currently as well.

 

And finally, 11 questions from C.B. Wentworth . . .

1) What book have you always wanted to read, but still haven’t gotten around to it?

Um . . . *goes upstairs to look at bookshelf* hm.  I’d have to say . . . Screwtape Letters and Mere Christianity, both by C.S. Lewis.

2) What classic book do you feel is overrated? Why?

I can’t really give great explanations, but I’ve never been able to get into Mark Twain’s work.  I haven’t ever made it through the first chapter of any of his stuff.

3) What is your favorite movie adaptation of a book?  Least favorite?

Princess Bride is my most favorite.  Least favorite is . . . the newer Prince Caspian (the non-BBC version).  They ruined it.

4) Where is your favorite place to write?

Coffee shops.  They force me to focus.  At least tea is much cheaper than coffee . . .

5) Pen or pencil?

Pen.  Except when I’m filling out character charts.  Then pencil is a must.

6) What was your favorite toy as a child?

My imagination :).

7) What is the greatest accomplishment of your life?

geez, I’m only 26 . . . don’t I get more time to HAVE a greatest accomplishment?  So far, though?  Deciding that I wanted to write enough to pursue it seriously.

8) If you could wake up tomorrow having gained any one ability or quality, what would it be?

Time management.

9) What are five songs you hate to admit you love?

um . . . Dancing Queen, that summer love song from Grease (I HATE Grease with a passion, but that song is so dang catchy) . . . and I can’t think of anything else.  I’m pretty picky about what I listen to.

10) Where is your dream destination, (or place you’ve always wanted to go)?

Ireland/Scotland.  Gotta see where my people came from way back when 😀

11) What are the top five things on your bucket list?

Get published.  You should have seen that one coming 😛
Get published by TOR.
Have kids.
Live off the land.
Get a tattoo.

 

So, you guys just learned a LOT more about me!  Now I want to know somethings about you too . . .

My Eleven People that I’m tagging are:

The Barenaked Critic
Blissfully Brenna
Alessandra Hinlo
CJ Parmenter
Lissa – A Quid for the Quill
Jessica Therrien – Imagination to Publication
L.A. Freeland
CherylAnne Ham – Making Words Happen
Hannah Hale
Cherie Rich
Tia Bach – Depression Cookies

My set of 11 Questions for ya’ll:

1. What is your current writing project?
2. Why are you writing it?
3. Do you have any pets?
4. What’s the worst book you’ve ever read?
5. Favorite tv show and/or movie?
6. What can you always count on to get you inspired?
7. What book did you read that inspired you to truly WRITE?
8. Favorite food?
9. Worst thing you ever wrote?
10. Best thing you ever wrote?
11. Place you’ve visited that inspired you the most?

Have fun, everyone!  Happy weekend! 🙂

