Sunday Devotional – Loving Correction


Whoever loves instruction loves knowledge,
But he who hates correction is stupid.
~ Proverbs 12:1

Having just finished several entries for a couple different contest at the beginning of February, this scripture has close, personal meaning.

If you’ve never submitted work to be critiqued by your peers (or your betters!) than you have no idea how important this scripture is.

If you have done the above, you know exactly how important it is.

When we hand our stories over to someone else to be looked over, asking for ways that we can make improvement, it’s a very hard thing.  It’s like ripping your beating heart of your chest and presenting it to someone on a silver platter, and asking them to heal it.

But being open to correction is what makes us grow.  If we are never willing to admit when we’re wrong, then we become stagnant.

I pushed myself that last week before the contest entries were due.  One story was confirmed “perfect” by most of my peers*, one was great and just needed some polishing, and the other (the largest) needed a lot of work.

*perfect being a flexible definition.  I’m sure it could be improved on, but for now, it’s done.

Because I was willing to listen to what others had to say, though, I was able to submit entries that I was proud of.

Now, let’s compare this to our spiritual lives.

Shouldn’t God be our editor?

If we can trust our earthly peers to look over something as precious as our writing, which for me is always a piece of my soul, how much more can we trust our Creator and Heavenly Father with our actual hearts?

Several years ago, I was struggling with some major decisions.  I hadn’t yet started college (and I had graduated high school almost three years before), and I was making some changes with jobs, etc.

One night, at a local service for young adults, God laid something on my heart – that I had to put all of my desires for life on His altar.  And I had to trust Him enough to give back what really mattered.

So, with a very heavy heart, I laid everything on that altar – including writing.  And He gave it back.

It was my Abraham moment – was I willing to give up my “only son” so that He could do a work in me that would be far greater than anything I could ever do on my own?

Hide Your face from my sins,
And blot out all my iniquities.

Create in me a clean heart, oh God,
And renew a steadfast spirit within me.
Do not cast me away from Your presence,
And do not take Your Holy Spirit from me.
~ Psalms 51:9-11 NKJV

But now, O LORD,
You are our Father;
We are the clay, and You our potter;
And all we are the work of Your hand.
~ Isaiah 64:8 NKJV

