CSFF Day 2 – A Peek in The Realms Thereunder


People, let me tell you it has been a crazy hectic week!  And it’s not even half over yet >_<.

First things first, though, we have a winner for the Restless Spirits giveaway from last week!

The Winner is . . .

Shannon McKeever!

Shannon, you’ll be getting an email from Amazon shortly with your Kindle copy of Restless Spirits.  If you don’t own a Kindle, you can download the app for PC or another device :).

And, on to the CSFF part of this blog . . .

I sat down today and cleared my schedule, because I had reading to do – namely, finish The Realms Thereunder and read Halflings for the DAC so that I can send it on to the next person.  I did get them both done, in between caring for an under-the-weather husband and having a chiropractor appointment.

Reading The Realms Thereunder was fun.  It was definitely not the most intense story I’ve ever read, but it was an enjoyable read.  I’m not going to do an in-depth review right now, but I’m going to give a few impressions. 🙂

I’m going to reveal a little bit of my utter nerdness here – I used to do Lord of the Rings forum-based role-playing.  I role-played as a Rohirrim, and so familiarized myself with smattering of Old English.  I even served a stint as the Third Marshal of the Riddermark :D.

I bet I was one of the few of you that didn’t have to look up how to pronounce some names, or what certain letters were :).  I’m pretty proud of that fact!

I kept having flashbacks to those role-playing days.  I also kept having flashbacks to The Hobbit every time someone broke into song . . .

That said, I found the story an enjoyable read, but it was still too easy to put it down.  I like books that keep me reading as quick as I can, and this one had the potential for it, but just didn’t quite draw me in.  We’ll touch on that a bit more tomorrow :).

 

Disclaimer: Through participation in the CSFF Blog Tour, I received a free copy of this book from the publisher.

