Let My Words Be Few – Sunday Devotional


Do not be rash with your mouth,
And let not your heart utter anything hastily before God.
For God is in heaven, and you on earth;
Therefore let your words be few.
~ Ecclesiastes 5:2 NKJV

What do I have to say that can possibly compare to what God has already written in His Word? All I can possibly hope to do is direct people to it. There is nothing I can say that is better or more enlightening than God’s Word.

One thing I tend to do with my writing, and any writing that I’m asked to critique, is keep an eye out for unnecessary things. I’ve cut out whole pages of my own writing as I read through and realize that I’ve either said it already, or that it doesn’t pertain to the plot at all.

What I like in a good author is not what he says, but what he whispers. ~Logan Pearsall Smith, “All Trivia,” Afterthoughts, 1931

A whisper is so very powerful – I’m more likely to strain to hear a whisper than I am to listen to someone who is shouting at me. Whispers suggest intimacy and privacy, and that’s what our writings should be. They should be an intimate part of our souls that we expose to our readers, just as God woos us to Him.

