P for Parable – #atozchallenge


The Good Samaritan
photo by Fergal OP

Parables are stories used to convey spiritual and/or moral concepts that may not be within the grasp of the listener/reader (my own definition).

I think I’m very familiar with parables, personally, because I was raised reading the Bible.  I was 12 years old the first time I read it through from Genesis to Revelation all on my own.  It is filled with parables.

However, the Bible is not all parables.  There’s always an introduction to the parable, and I do believe the Bible is the literal living and breathing Word of God.  It is history, science, parable, and redemption all wrapped into one.  I know many people, both Christian and non-Christian, don’t agree with this, but this is the view point I come from, just so you know.

Besides the Bible (and Jesus wasn’t the only one who did parables in the Bible, by the way. The Old Testament is full of them too), I guarantee you that all of you can name at least one parable.  Aesop’s Fables, anyone?

The truth of the matter is, anything can be a parable.  Fantasy is especially well suited for parables, but you can find them everywhere.

Do you have a favorite parable?

