Q for Queens – #atozchallenge


Powerful Women for Powerful Stories

I will probably go on and on for this post.

The moment I settled on my ‘fantasy writing’ theme for the A-Z Challenge, I knew exactly what I was going to do for Q.  (I’ll be honest, though, I was tempted to do a Star Trek theme for this post.)

I’m a strange person.  I consider myself a feminist, but not in the same sense that most people are familiar with.

According to Dictionary.com, feminist means:

advocating social, political, legal, and economic rights for women equal to those of men.

The contradiction many will see here is that I’m also a full believer and supporter in traditional marriage.  Just because men and women are created equal, and should have equal rights, does not mean that they are identical.

I have just as much a right to be a stay-at-home mom one day as a woman does to make the same amount of money for the same amount of work as a man in her field does.  I have just as much a right to marry as a woman does to NOT marry.  I’m still just as much of a person, but it doesn’t mean I’m the same person as the women who want to have six-figure careers and incomes.

Making six-figures from writing would be great, but I’m not holding my breath for that.  I may very well accumulate that much one day in royalties, but I know it won’t be all at once.  I’ll probably never see it all once, either.

The fact is, though, whether or not a woman is a stay-at-home mom or a CEO, they have just as much value and influence in the world.

After all, the hand that rocks the cradle is the hand that rules the world.

If you’re an avid fantasy reader, just stop and think for a moment.  How many powerful women can you think of, right off hand, in fantasy stories?

Galadriel

Eowyn

Egwene

Kahlan Amnell

Lucy Pevensie

Daenerys Targaryen

And that’s just fantasy books – not drawing from the wealth of mythology and history that we have access to.

Who is your favorite female character in a book, fantasy or otherwise?  Have they influenced you in any way?

