First Loves (A Blogfest)


Hi everyone! If you’re part of my regular #writemotivation crew, I’ll have that post up tomorrow, because today is the First Loves blogfest, instigated by Alex J. Cavanaugh.  If you click the link attached to his name there, you’ll be able to find the other participants in the blogfest.

There are four of our “first loves” we’re supposed to tell you about – first movie, first song/band, first book, and first person.

So, come along for a little history story on my life!

“First Love” Movie

Come on . . . I’m a Beauty and the Beast fan.  I remember when it came out in theaters, but it was probably another five years before I actually got to see it.

Seriously, any girl who loved to read as much as I do . . . just watch this clip.  You’ll see why it was the first movie I fell in love with.

“First Love” Song

Once upon a time, the only music I listened to was contemporary Christian.  I still listen to it, but when I first started listening was when it was coming to the end of the 90s trends.  For some reason, my best friend and I fixated on “Testify to Love” by Avalon.

There *cough* may or may not be a very terrible homemade music video of this song hidden deeply away on a VHS somewhere.  Featuring yours truly, my best friend, and a flashlight with a glitterball.

This video is NOT that video.

“First Love” Book

Asking a reader to pick a favorite book is like asking a writer to pick a favorite word – it’s impossible!

So, we’ll just have to do with one of the first books I remember reading and being fascinated with.

That was “The Castle in the Attic” by Elizabeth Winthrop.

I’m not sure what it was about this book that fascinated me so much, but to this day I can’t put it down after reading the first page.

I think it had something to do with the fact that William actually made some really bad choices, though – choices that affected other’s lives, not just whether he got a cookie or something. As far back as I can remember, I’ve always been drawn toward the darker consequences of decisions – not because I want the bad things, but because it better reflects what has happened in my life.  Even since I was young.

“First Love” Person

I was very blessed.  The first and only man I ever dated, ever kissed, is the love of my life.  We met when we both worked at Hobby Lobby, and I knew from the start that there was something very special about him.  He was dating someone at the time, though, so we became friends first.

When we finally did start dating – a year and a half later – it was only four months until we were engaged!

Now, we’ve been married just over four years.  I can’t believe it’s been that long.

 

Thank you for dropping by for “First Loves”! I’ll be around soon if you’re another blogfest participant, but if you’re not, will you share some of your first loves in the comments?

