Eternal Life explored in “Beckon” – CSFF Day 1


Welcome to another edition of the Christian Science Fiction and Fantasy blog tour!  To find out more about it, please visit here.

If you’re stopping by for #WriteMotivation, I’ll have that update posted on Thursday this week (CSFF will be from today-Wednesday).  Also, would everyone visiting do me a HUGE favor, and go look at my poll for some possible book titles?  I just want opinions :D.  The more, the merrier!

This month’s book is Beckon by Tom Pawlik.

The back of the book:

Some things weren’t meant to be discovered.  But once they’re unleashed, there’s no turning back.
Beneath the town of Beckon, a terror hides, lurking in the darkness.  Waiting.

Three people are drawn to the small Wyoming town for very different reasons.  Anthropologist Jack Kendrick comes looking for clues to his father’s disappearance.  Police officer Elina Gutierrez arrives in the near-deserted town on the trail of her missing cousin.  And George Wilcox is lured by the promise of a cure for his wife’s illness.

All are looking for answers.  But as they draw closer to discovering the town’s chilling secret, the real question becomes. . .

Will their quest uncover a miracle, or release an unspeakable evil?

It may just be me, but Beckon reminded me of the anime/manga Fullmetal Alchemist (I haven’t actually read the manga, just watched both anime series, and I like Brotherhood better).

There were a few parallels.

Lost fathers . . . eternal life . . . bad guys who supposedly couldn’t be killed . . .

Yeah.

What really made me think of Fullmetal Alchemist was the way eternal life is gained in Beckon.

If you’ve watched or read FMA, you’re familiar with something known as the philosopher’s stone (which is a historical term as well, back when people actually tried to turn lead into gold).  In FMA, the premise is that this stone allows an alchemist to do alchemy without having to account for equivalent exchange (what is being ‘transmuted’ must be equal to the original object).  Human transmutation is forbidden because you can’t measure the worth of a human soul.

A philosopher’s stone is only made through human transmutation, though – it is a stone that holds human souls in it, thus giving the wielder limitless power and/or “eternal” life, depending on how they utilize it.

In Beckon, eternal life is also gained through the souls of other people, but it has to be ‘taken’ daily.  People are drawn into the cult by being promised cures for incurable diseases.  In this book, Miriam and her husband are offered a cure for Alzheimer’s without being told of the other ‘side effect’.

What if you were promised a cure for an incurable disease, but not told that it would also increase your lifespan as long as you took it, and reverse the aging process?

I think that I would be horrified.  To find out suddenly that I may be completely healthy, but I’m going to not age anymore (and potentially look younger – this would be a big problem for me.  I turn 27 next week, and last summer someone asked me what grade I was in *headdesk*), and I’m going to watch everyone I love die? What a mind trip.

But that also begs the question – what would make eternal life worth it? I know what my answer is, but I want to hear yours!

To buy the book on Amazon, just click on the picture of the book above.
To find out more about Tom Pawlik, please visit his: Website   Blog   Facebook page   Twitter

And, since CSFF is a blog tour, please visit the other participants!

Noah Arsenault
Julie Bihn
Thomas Clayton Booher
Thomas Fletcher Booher
Beckie Burnham
Brenda Castro
Theresa Dunlap
Nikole Hahn
Ryan Heart
Bruce Hennigan
Janeen Ippolito
Becky Jesse
Jason Joyner
Carol Keen
Leighton
Rebekah Loper
Katie McCurdy
Shannon McDermott
Karen McSpadden
Rebecca LuElla Miller
Nissa
Joan Nienhuis
Faye Oygard
Crista Richey
Kathleen Smith
Jessica Thomas
Steve Trower
Fred Warren
Shane Werlinger

 

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book from the publisher in cooperation with the CSFF Blog Tour.

