Mixing Up Routines . . .


It’s going to be strange this month – I’m not doing #writemotivation for the first time since I found out about it.

But sometimes life just throws you a curve – or fifty.

So I’m taking a step back, re-evaluating how I’ve been spending my time, and taking a little time off of things that I do need to be doing to finish other things that I’ve promised and have fallen behind (very far behind) on.

And I’m also taking the time to figure out what the heck my new routine needs to be since being laid-off.

Because when you don’t have a day job to go to, sometimes it’s hard to get motivated to do anything in a day.

But I’m working on that.  Miraculously, I’ve found myself surrounded with friends reaching toward many of the same goals – specifically writing and getting published.  There’s a small group of us, we fondly refer to ourselves as “the ferrets” (yes, there’s a story behind that, and yes, you’ll get it sometime in the near future), and we ended up on a perpetual chat session on Facebook last week.  I expect that it’s going to maintain itself for a long time.

Last week was the most productive writing week I’ve had in MONTHS.

Of course, it probably helped that I had contest deadlines this past Friday, but still.

And I owe some thanks to several people as well, that read, re-read, made suggestions and comments, and helped keep me sane as I wrote lots of angst and sadness (I can’t help it! It’s just what comes out! Writing is therapeutic, right?).  So, thank you to:

Michelle
Lissa
Jess
Serena
Eris
Justin (who said he could easily envision my story as a comic, and I was so very flattered!)
Shannon (do you have a blog, Shannon? I want to link if you do!)

So, how do you keep yourself motivated?
