Debut Author Challenge – Nerve by Jeanne Ryan – Book Review


 

It’s time for another DAC Review!

Once again, you can find out about the Debut Author Challenge here.

Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review through participation in the DAC ARC Tour.

 

The Blurb:

When Vee is picked to be a player in NERVE, an anonymous game of dares broadcast live online, she discovers that the game knows her.  Whoever is behind it tempts her with prizes taken from her ThisIsMe page and teams her up with the perfect boy, sizzling hot Ian.  At first it’s exhilarating as Vee and Ian’s fans cheer them on to riskier dares with higher stakes.  But the game takes a twisted turn, and suddenly they’re playing all or nothing with their lives on the line.  Just how far will Vee go before she loses NERVE?

I had some hopes for this book.  It’s not the type of thing I normally read (I am a fantasy nut, after all), but I enjoy a good suspense or thriller when they come along.  Think Dean Koontz, or some of Ted Dekker’s earlier works.

This book was intense, at times, I’ll give it that.  As someone who has a deeply terrifying fear of embarrassment, I was mortified for Vee as she had to complete these different dares . . .

And yet, that was all I felt for this character – or any of them, really.  Simple embarrassment.

I couldn’t bring myself to care about these characters at all, and found the ways they developed to be unrealistic.  Set-ups were made for them to be a certain way, and even when there was reason for them to change, the ways they changed seemed . . . fake.

I wanted to care about the characters, but the writing just didn’t draw me in.  That said, it was, for the most part, error-free.  It was easy to follow along with the plot and the whole message of the story (peer pressure, the importance of being a good friend vs. just having good friends, that people are more than they seem to be), it was just lacking in some areas.

 

