NaNoWriMo 2012 – Day 2


NaNo 2012 Day 2

Word Goal: 3,334/50,000

Actual word count: 3,442

What happened today: We had our NaNo Kick-off!  At my house.  We had 40 people RSVP.  Fortunately, only 30 of them showed up.  I survived.  I was up for 19 hours straight, because on the weekdays I’m always up by 6 am.  And I went to bed at 1:30 am.  I still haven’t quite recovered, obviously, because I’m rambling.

Short Excerpt:

The cobblestones seep cold through the too-thin soles of my shoes. There’s a hole in one of them, right under the ball of my foot, and with every step it’s like a stab of pain all the way into my knee. I should be used to the ache by now, but I’m not.

I’m nearing the central square of the city now. I can see a glimmer of light off the Eye, like a faint echo reflecting through the streets. The moon is coming out again. I brave a glance up at the sky, hoping that there is no one looking out a window. For some reason, Rishka eyes have always reflected the moonlight. I remember seeing my brothers’ eyes the first time after their Namings, awed at the new silver ring around their irises. They fairly glowed at night. Mine do the same now.

It is why I make sure to keep my eyes hidden. And yet I couldn’t keep them hidden from the one person I needed to the most.

