NaNoWriMo 2012 – Day 3


NaNo 2012 Day 3

Word Goal: 5,001/50,000

Actual word count: 7,654

What happened today: Never again will we have two 5-hour write-ins within a 24 hour period.  Those were the hardest 4000 words I ever wrote.  I’m still exhausted, and I’m so glad that DST ended last night, because I NEEDED that extra hour of sleep.

Short Excerpt:

There is one item in the basket that fascinates me, though. It fits almost perfectly in the palm of my hand, with a hard, brittle coating, and is brown with dark speckles. I would call it oval in shape except that one end is slightly narrower than the other, and a little more pointed.

I know the shape. I remember hunting for bird’s nests in the forest when I was a child, but the treasures we found in them were much smaller than this one that I’m holding in my hand.

Awed, I look back up at Taphim, and the look on his face as he watches me is surely a reflection of my own.

“Is this an egg?” I can’t keep the disbelief out of my voice.

 

