#WriteMotivation & NaNoWriMo 2012 – Day 18


NaNo 2012 Day 18

Word Goal: 30,006/50,000

Actual word count: 32,747

What happened today: I got to juggle rambunctious Wrimos (really wanted to say “rhinos” here) in the chat room and moderate someone who was trying to say that NaNoWriMo shouldn’t allow an opposing argument on its forums instead of focusing on writing.  Seriously, people, read the Terms and Conditions and Codes of Conduct, it’s not insanely long for NaNoWriMo.org.  We know you’d rather be writing.  So would your moderators.  It will make life much easier for everyone.

That said, I still got my 1667 for the day, so I’m still ahead.  Going to attempt to make Monday a 10k day.  We’ll see *crosses fingers*.

Short Excerpt:

Sarana has never come to visit her at the stables before.  Something must be disturbing the Kashlinez, at least more than usual.  Zareja hurriedly wipes her hands on her skirt, tucks the loose strands of hair that fallen loose behind her ear, and steps into the open floor between the rows of stalls.  Sarana is pacing nervously at the main door, and Zareja quickly steps around her bustling stablehands to greet the woman.

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0. http://www.flickr.com/photos/sahlgoode/

#WriteMotivation Update

1. Complete my first draft of Undoing – whether it’s 50k or 100k.
Running a little behind of where I want to be, but still ahead for hitting the 50k goal.  And yeah, this is definitely going to be two books.

2. Keep up with my NaNo daily updates on the blog.
So far, so good!

3. Complete simultaneous edits in November for The Undoing Chronicles in preparation for the NaNo Virtuosos Contest by Curiosity Quills.
Yeah, haven’t made any new progress on edits.  Just trying to write right now.  If I hit 40k at least today, I’ll take half of tomorrow and work on edits.  If you’ve contacted me to beta, please now that I simply haven’t sent you anything because I haven’t had the chance yet!  If you’re interested in helping me with critiques/beta-ing, please refer to this post.

4. Keep up with blogs & twitter.
Blogs went down the drain this week.  We’ll see if I can catch up the next couple days.  But writing is first.

5. Survive November.
I’ve wanted to strangle some people.  But haven’t done so (yet).  Also, thank you everyone for your prayers last week!  Mother-in-law’s surgery went well and she’s home recuperating now.

 

