Happy Thanksgiving! And NaNoWriMo 2012 – Day 21 update


English: "The First Thanksgiving at Plymo...

English: “The First Thanksgiving at Plymouth” (1914) By Jennie A. Brownscombe (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

First off, since everyone is reading this ON Thanksgiving – Happy Thanksgiving! (Even if you’re not American, I want you to know that I’m thankful for YOU – for the fact that you’re coming and reading my blog, that you might even be interested in the stories I have to tell.)

My point of view has really shifted the past few years about Thanksgiving as I’ve worked (very slowly, but it’s coming!) toward being self-sufficient. After two years of dreadful drought while trying to garden, I think I can understand how the pilgrims felt that very first Thanksgiving when they finally knew that they had enough stores to survive the coming winter.

So, in light of that, please enjoy this beautiful hymn (it’s instrumental only, but the words to it are here).

NaNo 2012 Day 21

Word Goal: 36,667/50,000

Actual word count: 39,526

What happened today: I wanted to hit 40k, but it just wasn’t happening.  It was Thanksgiving prep day at my grandparent’s house, so I was literally cooking ALL DAY.  I think I had an hour and a half when I wasn’t either driving, cooking, or running errands.  Until I got home at 9:30 pm.  The words just wouldn’t come.  I know exactly what needed to happen in the scenes I was working on, but yeah.  The stringing-together-of-coherent-sentences just didn’t cooperate.

Short Excerpt:

Her stomach felt like it had been filled with wet sand, and it only grew heavier as she saw Taphim’s stance change. She watched with silent horror as the Kashlin smiles wider – was that even possible? – and beckons one of his guards over. His laughter is loud enough to hear over the crowd now, and her jaw clenches when he draws the guard’s sword out of its sheath.

With a flourish, he passes it, hilt first, to Taphim.

