NaNoWriMo 2012 & #WriteMotivation Wrap-Up


NaNoWriMo 2012 Winner

NaNoWriMo Days 27-30 & Total Month Recap

Word Goal:  50,000

Ending Word Count (on Nov 30): 54,000

What Happened: The last few days of NaNo, my mind just got overwhelmed. Since I was starting to edit Undoing, and the ML duties were coming to a culmination, I just decided I need a few days off from blogging, so I took them! I wasn’t writing anything new anyway, so I didn’t have excerpts.

Also, since my one book that I was going to call “The Undoing Chronicles” has now turned into TWO books (at the very minimum, lol!), I need a book title, since Undoing will now be the series title. So, vote please? (for anyone who doesn’t know what Undoing is about, here’s the closest thing I have to a synopsis at the moment.)

It was a crazy, wonderful month (though it had its un-wonderful moments – many of them ML stresses that were completely new to Critic & I this year, because our region has grown a lot this year).  We had at least 20 people at every write-in, which is a PHENOMENAL turn-out for us.  Attendance didn’t wane at the end of the month like it normally has the past few years.

We did something new this year, also – we had a “last chance” write-in from 7 pm to midnight on the 30th.  We had about five people cross the finish line at the write-in, one of them just barely getting in right before midnight. It was an amazing sight!

What we’re never doing again – the TGIO immediately following the last-chance write-in >_<.  I got three hours of sleep early Saturday morning, and despite having slept 10 hours over Saturday night/Sunday morning, I’m still exhausted.

Can I take just a short minute to brag about my region, though?

At the beginning of the month, we told them that if we could (as a region) raise $1000 by midnight on the 30th for NaNoWriMo that Critic and I would read our first “published” stories from when we were children.

The term “published” is used very loosely here.

At noon on Friday, Critic and I thought we were going to get off the hook.

By 11 pm Friday night, one of our wrimo’s emailed us their confirmation receipt for the remaining amount needed to hit $1000.

So, as promised, our stories (this should, in theory, play both videos on the playlist back-to-back) (Also, while I’m sure these are actually as hilarious as it seemed at the time of reading . . . well, it was about 1 am at this point. Everything would have been hilarious anyway.):

So, I survived the month.

I think.

I briefly considered participating in #PitchWars or #Pitchmas with Undoing, also, but have decided against it. After staring at my computer screen for two hours last night trying to write a query letter and only getting half a sentence done, I’ve decided that my brain needs a break.  I’m just going to focus on NaNo Virtuosos.

On to #WriteMotivation!

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0. http://www.flickr.com/photos/sahlgoode/

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0. http://www.flickr.com/photos/sahlgoode/

1. Complete my first draft of Undoing – whether it’s 50k or 100k.
DONE!

2. Keep up with my NaNo daily updates on the blog.
I’m going to say “yes”, even though the last three days didn’t get up until today, because I kept up while I was still writing new stuff into the novel.

3. Complete simultaneous edits in November for The Undoing Chronicles in preparation for the NaNo Virtuosos Contest by Curiosity Quills.
Haven’t made it all the way through the novel yet, but it’s well on the way!

4. Keep up with blogs & twitter.
I’m not keeping up consistently yet, but I am remembering to check these things at least 2-3 times a week now.

5. Survive November.
*looks at calendar* Well. I guess I did it.  Because my calendar says it’s December 2nd now. Woohoo!

Hurrah for a successful month, and congrats to all my fellow NaNoWriMo winners!  How did your month go?

