300 posts, you say? Let’s celebrate! Who likes cookies and scones?


300 posts.

I certainly hoped that I would get here one day, but it’s one of those goals that’s surreal until you actually reach it, and then it’s even MORE surreal.

And it’s only taken me a year and a half to get here.

I’ve learned so much about myself, my creativity, and my potential in these 300 posts.

I’ve learned just how much outlining helps me write a story.

I’ve learned that I can type coherent – if completely unrelated – sentences in my sleep.

I’ve learned that I can finish the first draft of a novel within a deadline, and even make headway on editing it right away. (Shameless plug: I’m talking about my NaNo Virtuosos entry, Catalyst. Go here to vote for it to advance to round 2! Hint: scroll down to the checklist for the voting! You can only vote for an entry once, so don’t try to vote for Catalyst multiple times, ok?)

I’ve learned that it doesn’t matter how far apart we may live, writers are a community, no matter what is happening in our lives.

And that Christmas always comes, even if it feels like it is an eternity away.

Yeah, I know that last one is random, but it’s true.

I’ll admit that I get excited for the gifts (both giving and receiving them) at Christmas time, but that isn’t why I look forward to Christmas every year.

I look forward to Christmas because it’s my reminder that I will never, ever, be alone, no matter what happens. Because Emmanuel has come – God is with us.

We are blessed this Christmas. Not because there will be a lot of gifts under the tree – because there most certainly won’t be – but because I have a home. I have my family. I have a plan for beginning to become self-sustainable.

And because, most of all, I have a Savior.

So, in celebration of ALL these things, I’m having a little giveaway!

There will be two prizes, because there are people from outside of the US who follow this blog :).

Rafflecopter is up again! Just click the link in my post to get to the giveaway :).

First off, the giveaway can be found on my Facebook page, since there isn’t really ANY giveaway widget I can post directly on my blog because of WordPress.com’s security measures (blah).

The first prize is some homemade goodies from me!

I made a batch of homemade oatmeal cream pies for a writer’s get-together a while back, and they were a hit! Don’t believe me? Just ask Michelle, Lissa, Candace, KT Hanna, or Andrew. They all loved them. I’ve also got some cranberry scones to make, and what else goes with cookies and scones but hot tea or hot chocolate? So, the goody basket will consist of: oatmeal cream pies, cranberry scones, and your choice of hot tea (any flavor that you like that I can find locally) or hot chocolate. (This prize for US residents only. Because I’m not about to tackle shipping perishables internationally. Also, these goodies will contain wheat.)

The second prize, for those of you outside the US, will be a feature on my blog.

By “feature” I mean: a ginormous post all about YOU! I’ll interview you, link to your blog & any social networking, talk about any books you have published, or anything else that is of huge interest to you. Basically, I will brag about you (with some help from you, especially if I don’t know you super-well!).  We can really talk about anything you would like, within reason. I won’t discuss gratuitous sex or violence, or post any profanity, though.

So, to enter the giveaway, go here!

