My Goals and Aspirations for 2012 – The Recap


I can’t believe 2012 is almost OVER.

I really can’t.

So much has happened this year, and sadly it seems that so little of it has been writing-related. My personal/family life has exploded (in the not-good way), especially the last six months, with the exception of buying a house.

And boy, at the end of 2011 was I ambitious.

I laugh at myself now.

But I have accomplished some things!

[reminder:

Voting for the first round of NaNo Virtuosos held by Curiosity Quills is still open (until Dec 28th). Go vote for my story, Catalyst (The Undoing Chronicles, Book 1) to advance to Round 2!

Also, in celebration of reaching the 300-blog-posts milestone, I’ve got a giveaway running! Go check it out and enter to win some awesome winter treats (or a feature on my blog)!

Both the voting for Round 1 of NaNo Virtuosos and the entering the giveaway end on Dec 28th!]

So, let’s see what I actually did this year . . .

Writing/Blogging Goals

  1. Finish Weeping Willow – this is all read-throughs, re-writes, edits. – hahaha.
  2. Query Weeping Willow  to at least 5 agents by the end of the year. – HAHAHAHAHAHA!
  3. Enter at least one round of Writers of the Future. – I think I’ve decided to knock this one of the Bucket List permanently.
  4. Complete pre-writing stuff for Father Time – outline, character charts, research. – nope.
  5. Finish rough draft of Stars for the Dead. – still in progress, but it is being worked on.
  6. Blog at least 3 times a week for the whole year. – with the exception of one hiatus, I think I actually came pretty close to this one, so we’re going to call it complete!
  7. Participate in 3-5 blog tours/campaigns/etc. by the end of the year.2012 Debut Author Challenge, the A-Z Challenge, “And You Are . . .?” Blog Hop, several cover reveals & at least one book launch, the CSFF Blog Tour, First Loves Blogfest, HobbitFest, #WriteMotivation . . . I’m sure there’s some I’m missing. But I definitely did AT LEAST five.
  8. Utilize my Facebook page, Twitter, Google+, SheWrites, and Goodreads accounts better. – hm, not really.
  9. Stay caught up with the blogs I follow. – HAHAHA!
  10. Finish making this blog polished! – I have made significant progress, so yes.
  11. Revive my Tea & Yarn blog. – this is permanently being removed from the Bucket List as well.
  12. Have several posts in queue for both blogs by the end of the year. – HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!
  13. Finish my ABCs of Fiction Writing project. – HAHAHAHA!!! (In all seriousness, I think I’m going to edit and finish this for my A-Z Challenge this year.
  14. Spend 10 hours a week each on: writing and editing (unless on an actual vacation, or sick), and keep caught up with critiques for others. – *snort*.
  15. Be up to 300 followers on my blog by the end of the year. – I have 190 email followers, and I don’t like that WordPress now lumps in all my twitter connections with the numbers, but I have probably between 200-250 people that actually read this somewhat between email subscribers and RSS. So close, but not quite.

Lifestyle

  1. Read my Bible daily.  I didn’t do well with this one in 2011. – *groan* didn’t do well with this one in 2012 either.
  2. Take up running again, and stick with it this time, also core-strengthening stuff. – the LACK  of this is probably why I’m achy every day now.
  3. Stretch at least twice a day, especially with as much as I sit in front of the computer. – hah.
  4. Do a full-body cleanse, preferably near the beginning of the year. – hah.
  5. Make more clothes than I buy this year. – well . . . I didn’t make very much (only two dresses that I haven’t even worn yet), but I didn’t buy very much either . . .
  6. Begin making my own household cleaning and personal products. – this is still in progress, but it has started.
  7. Play with the cat for at least an hour each day, preferably 15 minute spurts at a time. – HAHAHA!
  8. Take at least one day each month where I don’t do anything at all with technology – no computer, TV, cell phone, etc.  If at all possible (weather and commitments allowing), spend it outdoors somewhere where I can’t hear traffic. – er . .  kinda forgot about this one.
  9. Be in bed by 10 pm on ‘work’ nights.  This is void during NaNo. – nope.
  10. Buy a house. – YES YES A HUNDRED TIMES YES!

Me

  1. Read more – aim for 30 minutes a day. – well, I hit my Goodreads goal, but I certainly didn’t read EVERY day. So nope.
  2. Get a tattoo (finances allowing, of course).  – Finances did not allow. We bought a house instead.
  3. Make another corset. – Nope.
  4. Go on more dates with my husband, even if it’s just taking a walk somewhere. – I made more of an effort to spend time with him, but we didn’t really have money for dates.
  5. Eliminate processed foods from my diet. – nope.
  6. Attempt Project 365. – I think I made it through March. Might try this one again. So, I most definitely ATTEMPTED it.
  7. Spend more time with my dearest friends.YES. And made some amazing new ones this year, also.
  8. Get a dog, provided we actually get a house. – um . . . we got chickens instead XD.
  9. Work my way down to only 5 hours of TV per week. – Well, I’m only watching actual TV about 1-2 hours a week, if even that (only following Once Upon a Time and NCIS currently) . . . but I am probably still watching too many movies and such. Though I do occasionally go days without turning on the TV, so THAT is progress.
  10. Go to the midnight premier of The Hobbit in costume.  Yes, I am a rabid fan.YES YES YES YES YES. AND IT WAS AWESOME.

So overall, I made progress. I had no idea about the curveballs I was going to get thrown this year with life, so I don’t feel like I failed, but I did definitely NOT manage my time well in some situations.

I’ve also re-prioritized some things. Like Weeping Willow. Not sure when/if that one is going to get done.

Overall, I’m pleased. But I still want to do better.

How did your goals come in 2012?

