The Joys of Receiving Feedback


antique penAll of us writers have heard how crucial it is to have critiquers (I know it’s technically not a word, but it should be!) and beta-readers to help us polish our writing.

What seldom gets mentioned is how entertaining they can be.

I’ve received comments/edits/criticism/etc back from several people on the first few chapters of Catalyst.

Here are some of my favorite ones.

~

I know Zareja can be a tough bitch from our conversations, but I like this little section because it portrays her as simply a woman, one who is a bit frightened and intimidated by what lays before her. For just a moment we see her without being faced with rank, status, and plots afoot. It makes her more human and less ‘I will eat your soul without flinching’.

~

He’s like the creepy guy at the party you can’t get away from… only 100x worse.

~

I love Trist, in a “holy shit this guy scares the hell out of me” way. If that makes sense.

~

I love that the dungeons and executions are by the holy relic. This is a screwed up people.

~

PERCEPTION FILTER SQUEE! (Doctor Who geek out) (We now return to your regularly scheduled critique)

~

I’ve seen Serena give a look much like the one in my head here. Just “Really? No shit, Sherlock. Is there a 4-star restaurant you had in mind or just some bread crumbs in your pocket? What the hell kind of question IS that?”

~

This makes me roll my eyes and giggle at the same time. It’s a nice break in the read. DON’T TAKE IT OUT.

~

Despite the overall seriousness, this makes me snort. It’s a nice touch in several ways. I like it.

~

You actually made me look up a word. But, knowing the definition now, it works. lol

~

FEEEEEEELIIIIIIIIIIIINGS. ALL THE FEELINGS. 😦

~

I heart this scene.

~

If your writing buddies don’t give you feedback like this . . . I’m sorry. You’re missing out.

