#WriteMotivation – Of Complications



Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0. http://www.flickr.com/photos/sahlgoode/

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0. http://www.flickr.com/photos/sahlgoode/

So, remember last week, when I said my power cord died? Here’s what’s happening:

My power cord died about noon that Saturday (yes, a week ago LAST Saturday). IT DIDN’T SHIP UNTIL 11:50 PM ON WEDNESDAY NIGHT.

Supposedly, my estimated delivery dates when I ordered it on SATURDAY was between Thursday of this past week, and Tuesday of this one. Obviously, Thursday, Friday, and Saturday didn’t happen. Current delivery date is the 18th, so when I stop to check the PO box on the way home from work, I’ll find out. If not, I’ll be spending Tuesday morning at the library. On an actual computer. Because there’s only so much I can do on my iPod Touch and Kindle.

And in light of all this (I expected to be without a computer for a few days, not a week and half), my goals are obviously going to have to undergo some revisions.

1. Complete a 4th draft & proof-read of Catalyst.
New Goal: Get through chapter 5 of Catalyst.
I’ve finished my read-through of the third draft. But without a computer . . . there’s not much I can do in the way of actual re-writing and scene-adding progress.

2. Pre-write A-Z Challenge blog posts.
New Goal: There is none. I am not doing the A-Z Challenge anymore (which means it’s a really good thing I hadn’t planned to sign-up until I finished writing all my posts for it, because I know don’t have to go to the hassle of finding and deleting my link from it). I will take the plans I had for this year, and now transfer them to NEXT year. So, A-Z 2014, here I come!

3. Re-read Stars for the Dead (and re-title, because “Stars for the Dead” is going to be transferred to book 2) & mark plot holes/expansion points for Camp NaNo.
New Goal: Make progress on re-reading, but now planning for the July Camp NaNo Session. Catalyst is my new April Camp NaNo goal. I would now like to start querying it in May/June.

Sometimes . . . I feel like no matter what I do, no matter what plans I make, and no matter how determined I am, something is always happening to prevent me from getting anything done that I want to. At least I’m making headway in the garden . . . and the house.

