3 Reasons to Quit Triberr


This is a decision that I’ve honestly been thinking about for a while. Even when I first joined Triberr, I really did it as an experiment to see if it would pay off in the long run . . . it really hasn’t, not for me.

I’ve seen a small increase in my Twitter traffic to my blog, but not enough to make up for the amount of time I’ve spent fiddling with Triberr.

So, here are my three reasons for quitting Triberr – maybe you’ll even relate to some of them:

1. You’re not actually on Twitter very much.

This is my #1 challenge. I like Twitter occasionally, but I’m not on it for hours a day. Honestly, sometimes I go actual days without even looking at it. Since I tweet rarely, that means using Triberr, I now tweet mostly links. Yeah . . . no.

2. You don’t share links indiscriminately.

A little while back, I got asked to join a larger-than-normal-for-me tribe. Most of it is okay, but I don’t just randomly share links. I like to know the content of what I’m sharing, because when I attach my name to a link, it’s like an endorsement. And I’m not going to attach my name to just anything, which means I now have to take the time and go through and check links. I thought this whole social media thing was about gaining exposure as a writer . . . not losing time to write.

3. You realize that if you followed yourself on Twitter, you would unfollow yourself for the amount of links you share.

Yeah . . . had this realization not too long ago. No matter what your answers were to the first two criteria, if you realize the same thing about yourself with this third one, then it’s definitely time to say goodbye to Triberr.

So, as of Friday morning, I will be deleting my Triberr account. I’ve met a few great people through it, and have followed who I’m going to keep following outside of Triberr.

For everyone using Triberr (and loving it!) I wish you the best of luck.

For everyone else who’s wondering if it’s worth it, if you’re wondering in the first place, it probably isn’t.

 

