Look! A post! (Stealing The Next Big Thing from Becca Weston :D)


This week has been insane. I’m glad it’s Saturday, but there’s so much stuff going on today also that it’s going to be late this afternoon before I have a chance to even slow down.

Just a quick mention: There’s a lot of things going on with my family. Some life and death health situations are “on the table” so to speak (not with me specifically, though, so rest assured), but I’m not at liberty to go into a lot of detail here. Just please keep us in your prayers & thoughts, and pray that ONLY God’s will can come to pass, and that me, my mom, and my grandma specifically will be able to focus on God in this situation rather than the circumstances.

April has also ushered in garden time & Camp NaNo!

I am woefully behind on both. But all of my peas are sprouting! But I suspect my carrot seeds might have been washed away in the last round of storms we had. :/

And on the topic of Camp NaNo, I was clearing out my RSS reader (good grief, I just tried to spell that “feader” *headdesk*) last night, and stumbled across Becca Weston’s “The Next Big Thing” post (she’s also been a bit slow about blogging lately, so I was like “Hey! A fellow perserverer!” I don’t care if that’s not a word.)

So, since I’m working on Camp NaNo, and I’ve been eating, living, sleeping, and breathing this story since November, I thought “Hey! Why not?”

So, enjoy!

I’m not tagging anyone. If you read this and want to do it with your story, go right ahead, and just let me know! But seriously, tagging? Ain’t nobody got time for that. *ahem*

What is the working title of your book?

Catalyst – Book One of the Undoing Chronicles. Michelle begged for the title to be Catalyst, lol. There are definitely going to be at least two books in this series … possibly three or four.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

A flash fiction challenge I participated in back in January of 2012. You can read that story here. It’s evolved a LOT since then, but that was the very beginning of all this. To read the subsequent parts of that challenge (which do tie in with Undoing), just select “My Writings” on the menu at the top of the blog, and then “Fiction”. Everything is on that page.

What genre does your book fall under?

Adult high fantasy.

What’s your book about?

Erm … tragedy. True love. Genocide.

The blurb I wrote for the contest I entered this in directly after NaNo (Writing the story for NaNoWriMo was one of the contest requirements, don’t worry.):

The prophecy said her death would be the catalyst for the Undoing. It didn’t mean Sachi wanted to die, but the Kashtophim slaughtered her entire race. Death seemed to be the only thing left. A chance encounter in the streets of the capital city with the head judge, Taphim, changed everything she knew about the Kashtophim.

Haunted by the blood on his hands, Taphim was desperate to save Sachi. Sachi believed he was only delaying the inevitable; she never expected they would find redemption in each other’s arms.

Then Taphim’s power-hungry son, Zanis, discovered their affair, captures Sachi, and uses her to blackmail his father. Taphim must execute Sachi with his own hands and appoint Zanis his successor, or Zanis will expose the affair, along with evidence that would incriminate Taphim’s wife, Zareja, for treason.

Trapped in a living nightmare he never could have imagined, Taphim finds an ally he never expected – Zareja. But it may be too late to save Sachi.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’m trying for an agent first. If nothing comes of that (you know, after several tries) then I’ll consider self-publishing.

Speaking of which! I’ve sent in a request for a pitch appointment at the OWFI conference in a few weeks *gnaws nails*.

Which actors would you choose to play your characters in a movie rendition?

Oh, I had fun with this one! But I’m not posting pictures, just links to pictures. Because I’m lazy. I’m allowed to have Lazy Saturdays. Also included is a little bit of brainstorming I did when I was figuring out this novel :P.

These are less based on looks, and more based on who I think could be the character best.

Sachi would be played by Emma Watson.

Her destiny is simple – her death will set the Undoing in motion. She never expected to find a reason to live right before her destiny calls.

Taphim would be played by Patrick Dempsey.

As the Rashan (Head Judge) of the Kashtophim, he bears the guilt & blood of the genocide of the Rishka on his hands – literally. He thought he wouldn’t have to execute another – and then he finds Sachi. And he can’t bear to see her die, let alone at his hands.

Zareja would be played by Angelina Jolie.

Zareja is Taphim’s wife. She has a secret eating away at her, of what she did to bring Taphim home from the war early. Because of that, she has made it her goal to start changing the Kashtophim Empire from the inside out. She just doesn’t know how quickly it’s going to end up happening.

Taxen would be played by Chris Pine.

Taxen is … Zareja’s former lover. She never intended to have an affair, but it did happen at one point. This is a secret she’s kept from Taphim, but it is not the secret mentioned above. Taxen is loyal, above all else, and he truly loves Zareja. But her first loyalty – if not love – is still Taphim’s.

Zanis would be played by Ian Somerhalder.

He has long thought his father (Taphim) was too soft in his duties as the Rashan. And he knows about Taphim’s hidden affections for Sachi. Greedy for power, it is nothing for Zanis to betray his family and hasten the Fulfillment.

How long did it take you to write the first draft of the book?

I wrote it for NaNoWriMo back in November, so one month.

What else about your book might pique your readers’ interests?

Well … this is the warning I sent out to my beta-readers the first time I sent them Catalyst:

I don’t seem to be able to write happy, fluffy stories.  There will be resolutions, but not always happy, and I will warn you now that Undoing is mostly angst.
It also deals with more mature subject matter.
There is no explicit sexual content, but sex and intimacy is mentioned because of the nature of some of the relationships in the story.
This story deals with (and contains) adultery, violence, explicit gore, genocide, infanticide, and just general people being generally nasty.
That will either kill your interest in the story, or make you VERY interested, lol!
