Camp NaNo – April 2013 – Week 1 Recap



2013-Participant-Campfire-Circle-BadgeYup, it’s Camp NaNo time!

I’m not starting a new project, I’m instead working on finishing the final touches of  Catalyst.

So, basic stats:

Starting word count on March 31: 55,380
Word count @ end of Week 1: 57,638
Total words written so far: 2,258

So basically I’ve written in a week what I would normally write in 2 days for NaNo >_<.

Oh well.

Excerpt:

“You have your own scar.” Was that a smile teasing around his mouth?

“My face was solidly introduced to a tree when my brothers and I got carried away rough housing one time.”

His eyes darkened and flicked away from mine. “You had brothers?”

“Two of them, both older than me. They’re… gone now, obviously. My parents, also.” Might as well get this unpleasantness out of the way.

Taphim swallowed, his face gaunt. “Were… were they… was I-”

I knew what he was trying to ask. I took the lamp from him.

“No, it wasn’t you.” I closed my eyes, then realized it only made the memories more vivid. “It was a mob, not in this city. I was… blessed, I suppose, to get away.”

