May #WriteMotivation & OWFI – What a weekend!


Oh wow, what a crazy past few days it’s been!

Where should I start?

I met Patrick Rothfuss! (There will be photographic evidence posted in a later post. Yes, I know I used two variations of the word “post” in that previous sentence. Deal with it. I don’t care right now.) But for now, his autograph!

Name of the Wind, Patrick Rothfuss, autograph

Autographed “The Name of the Wind” by Patrick Rothfuss

And I met August McLaughlin, who is so very sweet and intelligent and fun! And I forgot to get a picture with her :(. But I got her book, with autograph, bwahaha!

autographed copy of "In Her Shadow" by August McLaughlin

“In Her Shadow” by August McLaughlin

Aaaaand… I pitched to two agents! One told me to go ahead and submit to him (I’m assuming I should just follow the directions on his agency website, except send to him directly, since he gave me his contact info. He didn’t really specify, and I was so nervous, I forgot to ask. Oops.)

The second agent… well, there’s a story here. The second agent requested my full manuscript. She seemed very enthusiastic, and had a LOT of questions about my story.

I found out why that evening.

First Place for Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror Novel, OWFI 2013, Catalyst by Rebekah Loper

I WON!

When I won 1st place in the OWFI Contest for the Sci-Fi/Fantasy/Horror novel category!

BECAUSE SHE WAS THE ONE WHO JUDGED ALL THE ENTRIES.

So… she’s already read the first 25 pages of Catalyst.

AND SHE WANTS THE WHOLE THING!

*twitchflailsqueak*

Okay, on to the real reason for this post…

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0. http://www.flickr.com/photos/sahlgoode/

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0. http://www.flickr.com/photos/sahlgoode/

So, my May 2013 Goals:

1. Set Catalyst aside and NOT TOUCH IT. (With two exceptions – a final read-through the weekend of OWFI, and if I *gasp* get any requests.)

OMG I GOT A REQUEST. *ahem* But you already know this. So… yeah.

2. Aside from hopefully at least one pitch appointment at OWFI, query 5 agents with Catalyst.

Need to start on this one…

3. Draft 2-3 short stories (including flash fiction).

Haven’t even thought about this yet.

4. Outline 1-2 new novels and start character charts

One of these is definitely going to be the 2nd Undoing book.

5. Get 5 reviews pre-written for the blog.

Ummm, yeah, gotta start on this too… but I have plenty of reading material now!

How’s #WriteMotivation going for ya’ll? Or just your regular projects, if you’re not doing #WriteMotivation?

