May #WriteMotivation – How is it almost over?


Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0. http://www.flickr.com/photos/sahlgoode/

Header image and thumbnail photograph by Hugh Lee and licensed under CC BY-SA 2.0. http://www.flickr.com/photos/sahlgoode/

Where has this past week gone? I don’t understand…

So, my May 2013 Goals:

1. Set Catalyst aside and NOT TOUCH IT. 

2. Aside from hopefully at least one pitch appointment at OWFI, query 5 agents with Catalyst.

The tallies for the month:
1 full request – sent in (from the pitch & contest winning at OWFI).
1 query in follow-up to an OWFI pitch.
2 ‘cold’ queries sent in.

I’ve received two “passes” since – one from the pitch/query follow-up, and one from a ‘cold’ query. Still waiting on the full :).

I am participating in #PitMad on Tuesday as well, and I also need to get 3 more queries sent in to meet my goal. It’s just a matter of deciding who.

3. Draft 2-3 short stories (including flash fiction).

I… want to do this. I never did get the one from Wendig’s challenge last week written. (Yet.) We’ll see. Even if I just sit down and write a couple quick 1k flash fictions. I want to get into the habit of having some short stories constantly in progress.

4. Outline 1-2 new novels and start character charts

I’ve started this, but it’s not going to get finished before the end of the month. Too much going on between now and then (have I mentioned yet that my birthday is Thursday?). Depending on how much progress I make between now and Friday on the outline, I might mark this one as “done”.

5. Get 5 reviews pre-written for the blog.

Yay goal finished!

 

So far, 2.5 out of 5 goals complete… not too shabby! Especially considering some of these are BIG goals.

 

Also, please don’t forget those who’ve fought and died for our freedom today, or those loved ones who passed too soon. May we never forget what sacrifice is!

